The Condensed Matter Physics Group at the Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad is organizing a National level School and Workshop on Physics of Cold Atoms. The subject area has gained tremendous exposure in the last decade or so, bringing together scientists from vastly diffrent areas such as Condensed Matter and Statistical Physics, Atomic and Optical Physics, Quantum Information and Precision Measurement and Metrology. These systems are test-beds for looking for predicted phases and phase transitions in systems with large degrees of freedom and also have the potential to unravel new physics.

The programme consists of a school spreading over five days (10-14 Feb, 2014) and a workshop (15-16 Feb, 2014). The school will have pedagogical lectures on both theoretical and experimental aspects of Bosonic and Fermionic cold atoms and is designed to introduce Master's level students and young researchers in Physics to this vibrant and expanding area of fundamental research. The workshop that follows will expose them to a varierty of actively persued research problems of current interest.

The target audience is expected to comprise mainly of Master's level and Ph. D. students in Physics; however, others with similar interests are encouraged to apply. HRI will provide travel support to selected participants, in addition to providing local hospitality. The participnats are expected to be present during the entire duration of the meeting.



  • Cooling and Trapping of Atoms
  • Spectroscopy
  • Feshbach Resonance
  • Optical Lattices
  • Cavity Optics


  • Feshbach Resonance
  • BEC and Gross Pitaevskii equation
  • Fermionic systems
  • Optical Lattices including lattice Bosons
    and Fermions
  • Nonequilibrium dynamics of Bosons

Speakers for the School


  • Saikat Ghosh (IIT Kanpur)
  • Ashok Mohapatra (NISER, Bhubaneswar)
  • Sadiq Rangwala (RRI, Bangalore)
  • Umakant Rapol (IISER, Pune)


  • Dilip Angom (PRL, Ahmedabad)
  • Pinaki Majumdar (HRI, Allahabad)
  • Venkat Pai (HRI, Allahabad)
  • Krishnendu Sengupta (IACS, Kolkata)
  • Rajdeep Sensarma (TIFR, Mumbai)

Speakers for the Workshop

  • Dilip Angom (PRL, Ahmedabad)
  • Subhadeep De (NPL, New Delhi)
  • Sankalpa Ghosh (IIT Delhi)
  • Subroto Mukerjee (IISc, Bangalore)
  • Rejish Nath (IISER, Pune)
  • Rajdeep Sensarma (TIFR, Mumbai)

Important Dates

The school will be held during 10 -14 Feb, 2014 and the workshop during 15 -16 Feb, 2014.

Online application is open from 15 Sep, 2013 and closes on 15 Nov, 2013. (Please note that we are unable to accept hard copy/postal applications.) The list of selected candidates will be put up on web on or before 30 Nov, 2013.


Jayanta K. Bhattacharjee
Pinaki Majumdar
G. Venketeswara Pai


Email :