HRI | Doctoral Program in Mathematics | Guidelines | Timetable Life on Campus | Life beyond Campus

Harish-Chandra Research Institute

Admission procedure

The admission involves a two tier selection procedure:

  1. The Preliminary Screening Test:
    • NBHM Window: Harish-Chandra Research Institute uses the national level NBHM Ph. D. Scholarships Examination as a preliminary screening test for the selection. Candidates who score marks above a cut off mark (announced yearly) will be eligible to appear for the Admission Exam for the HRI Ph.D. programme. NBHM test is the main screening test.
    • UGC-CSIR Window: Candidate who secures a rank upto a certain cut off (announced yearly) in the national level joint UGC-CSIR Fellowship examination held in the last July / December month, are also eligible to appear for the HRI Ph.D. admission Exam.

  2. Admission Exam:
    • This is the main selection test for the Ph.D. programme in Mathematics and is conducted at the Harish-Chandra Research Institute, normally on the first Sunday of June, every year.

  3. Selection (2019):
    • From among the candidates who score at least 50 percent of the total marks in the Admission Examination, the top three in the order of marks shall be offered admission into the HRI Ph.D. programme, while the remaining candidates shall be put on a wait-list, ordered by the their score.
    • Selected candidates are expected to produce a document showing that they have qualified for the M.Sc. degree, at the time of joining.

    For information on the NBHM Ph. D. Scholarship Examination, including the advertisement and sample question papers, please see the NBHM Web site. The advertisement of the NBHM Ph.D. Scholarships examination is expected to appear in the national newspapers in the last quarter of each year.

  4. Selected Candidates:
    • The following three (3) candidates are selected for the HRI Ph.D. Programme starting August 2019, through the examination conducted on 2 June 2019 :
      1. Sumanta Das (Roll No.BAN 12)
      2. Sampurna Pal (Roll No. CSR 01)
      3. Hridoyananda Saikia (Roll No. BAN 16)

    • The following candidate is wait-listed for this programme :
      1. Niladri Sekhar Patra (Roll No. BAN 17)

Created: 2017-07-31 Mon 18:40