Awards and Honours


Elected General Secretary, National Academy of Sciences, India (Jan 2018- Dec 2021).

         Elected Editor, J. Indian Mathematical Society (April 2013-March 2019)

         Awarded NASI Senior Scientist Platinum Jubilee Fellowship (Jan 2013-Dec 2018)

         Elected Hon Treasurer, National Academy of Sciences, India (Jan 2012- Dec2016)

         Elected Sectional President (Mathematics Including Statistics) of Indian Science Congress (2010-11, SRM University, Chennai)

         Awarded Indian Science Congress Gold Medal (M.K.Singal Memorial) by the Prime Minister of India (Jan 2010, Trivandrum)

         Elected Academic Secretary, Indian Mathematical Society (April 2007-March 2013)

         "Distinguished Service Award" by the Mathematical Association of India for outstanding Contributions to the cause of teaching and research in Mathematics (2006)

         Vice-Chancellor (officiating), R.D.University, Jabalpur (India), 2002.

         Elected Fellow of the International Academy of Physical Sciences, Allahabad (India), 2002.

         Elected President of the Indian Mathematical Society, December 1999.

         Vice-Chancellor,  A.P.S.University, Rewa, M.P.(India) 1998-2001.

         Indo-US Fulbright Visiting Professorship Award, University of Hawaii and University of California at Berkeley (Summer  1993).

         Elected Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI), 1991.

         Indo-German Cultural Exchange Award to visit University of Tubingen, Germany (May-July 1987).

         INSA-French Academy of Sciences Award to visit, Center de Orsay, Paris, France (Nov-Dec 1985).

         Reviewer, AMS Mathematical Reviews (since 1980) and Zentralblatt Fur Mathematics (Since 1990).

         National Associate, University Grants Commission (India) for five years (1980-1985).

         Fulbright Scholar at the University of Arkansas, USA for doing Ph.D. in mathematics (July 1971- July 1973).